Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
6 Replies
|
6 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Best 250 functions that beginners should know?

Posted 8 years ago

Hi, Noob here just starting to learn Mathematica. I decided to write a how-to guide for high school students as a project to help me use mma instead of just reading about it...

I have a first draft that is obviously written by someone learning-by-doing and my question to the community is:

What 200-odd functions would you recommend to a high school student to get them as productive as possible writing lab reports and investigating subject topics?

Note: I'm not talking about massively recursive pure functions hacking the Global rule base or anything - literally useful functions that come standard that you think students should know right off the top of their head. For instance: ListPlot, Plot, Integrate, D, RandomInteger, Table, Select etc coupled with really basic usr-function definitions. A good example is using Transpose to turn 2 lists of x and y data into a single list of {x,y} data ready for a ListPlot function - super easy if you know Transpose, almost impossible to guess if you don't! I'm up to about 50 which I think is a good v1 hurdle - I'd like to make v2 the next 200-odd. If you care to make a suggestion, drop a couple in the Google form link below:

https://goo.gl/forms/sfs4PdKIBNzu4HN83

P.S. i also asked at Stack Exchange but the question was put on hold since it was 'opinion based'. Of course it's opinion based! I'm looking for some hints on how to upskill from people that already know!

P.P.S. if anyone is interested I could flip them a copy of my noob guide v1

POSTED BY: Joe Gamman
6 Replies

Cool project! I haven't looked at your book yet, but let me just throw out an idea anyway: Wolfram Language is sufficiently high-level that you'll start learning highly domain-specific functions very early on.