Message Boards Message Boards

Metaprogramming in the Wolfram Language

For some time now I have been interested in the idea of metaprogramming in the Wolfram Language. That WL lends itself to metaprogramming appeared so clear cut to me that I was surprised to find that the subject hasn't really come up in the community.

Not being a computer scientist (when I studied computer science at university, it was with the benefit of punched cards), I began to wonder if I had misapprehended something fundamental about WL. Happily, the talented Leonid Shifrin has taken a keen interest in the subject and written extensively about it, including this excellent post on Stack Exchange, in which he lays out the fundamental concepts. His view is that:

Mathematica is very well suited for meta-programming, and one can write much more powerful programs in Mathematica by utilizing it.

I will pick out a couple of the highlights here, but I would recommend a thorough reading of Leonid's post in its entirety.

Introspection

Writes Leonid:

Mathematica is IMO very strong here. There are a couple of reasons for this: Homoiconic language (programs written in own data structures - Mathematica expressions. This is code-as-data paradigm, like Lisp which uses lists for this) One can access global definitions for symbols stored in OwnValues, DownValues, SubValues, UpVaulues, etc, and various other global properties, programmatically. Rule-based destructuring techniques (using Cases etc) seriously simplify many introspection-related operations

An excellent example of WL's capabilities is given in a related post on automatically generating a dependency graph of an arbitrary Mathematica function.

enter image description here

Run-time Code Generation

Leonid goes on to write about WL's capabilities in this type of metaprogramming, including making JIT-compiled functions. He gives the following example:

ClearAll[selectJIT];
selectJIT[pred_, listType_] :=
  selectJIT[pred, Verbatim[listType]] =