Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
4 Replies
|
3 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

[?] Give a different color to each point in a plot of points?

Posted 7 years ago

Hello everyone, I'm new in mathematica so I have had some problems with it :/ . I have to make a plot from a science data in a 3D plot using points, and I have to give to each point a different color... and that's where is my issue. I've been trying with this

colorfunc = ColorData["Rainbow"];
norm = (vels - Min[vels])*1000;   (*Some of the velocities are <0 so I plus them a value to avoid this.*)
cs = Normalize[norm];  
Graphics3D[{PointSize[0.005], colorfunc@#[[1]], Point[#[[2]]]} & /@ Transpose[{cs, coord}], Axes -> True]

where coord is a 3D list of points (x,y and z cords),vels is a list with velocities, cs is the list containing the data for the colors. My problem is that when I execute the code the graph that I get has all the points with pretty similar colors, and I already know that I should see a difference between them, so I'm asking you for help with this. How should I give a different color to each point in such a way that I can see the difference between each point? Thank you.

POSTED BY: Brayan Del Valle
4 Replies

There is a built-in function for doing what you want, Rescale:

colorfunc = ColorData["Rainbow"];
Graphics3D[{PointSize[0.02], 
  Point[coord, VertexColors -> colorfunc /@ Rescale[vels]]},
 Axes -> True]

enter image description here

Since you mention the zero velocity, you might want to control what color represents zero. The Interpolation below runs uniformly between ± the maximum speed, so that the zero velocity coincides with the color at 0.5. It can be used to rescale the velocity.

resc = Interpolation[{{-Max@Abs[vels], 0.}, {Max@Abs[vels], 1.}}, InterpolationOrder -> 1]; (* assume velocities of different signs *)
colorfunc = Blend[{ColorData["TemperatureMap"][#], Black}, (1.2 # (1 - #))^2] &;
Graphics3D[