Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
2 Replies
|
1 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Native support for drawing & labeling Euclid-Elements-style figures?

Anonymous User
Anonymous User
Posted 6 years ago

Here are examples of the kinds of figures I want to generate in Mathematica:

from Joyce's online Elements

from Mathworld

In particular, I want to label various points, line segments, and angles. I also want to show X and Y axes, so I'm assuming I should be using Graphics[] rather than Graph[] (but I am a novice at this).

I know how to draw the circles and triangles; but I find no native way to add the labels. Have I missed it? Or do I need to calculate the x and y coordinates for each label myself, and then place some text at those coordinates? Have I overlooked native Mathematica functionality designed for this task?

POSTED BY: Anonymous User
2 Replies

Use Graphics. If you're just drawing lines and circles you will never have to use Show or Plot, Graph is almost an entirely different subject. Use the Text statement for labeling. You can just draw one thing after another.

Another useful set of Mathematica routines are the Geometry routines. I've designed a small palette that gives access to them and the documentation. They have routines such as InfiniteLine that will automatically extend the line to your current PlotRange. I'm attaching the palette if you wish to try it out.