Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
7 Replies
|
1 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Calculate seismic to signal ratio and peak seismic to noise ratio?

Posted 5 years ago

Dear All, I am a beginner in mathematica. Please, I want to write a mathematica code to calculate seismic-to-noise ratio using the equation:Signal to noise ratio equation

a is the amplitude scaling factor, s is the waveform and n is the noise. I have attempted to write the code as follows:

SNR = 10*Log*(Norm[s[[i]]^2, 2]/Norm[n[[i]]^2, 2], {i, nx})

I will also like to write a code to calculate peak signal to noise ratio using the equation peak signal to noise ratio Pi is the peak value of s in the first equation and sigma is the variance.

Attachments:
POSTED BY: Oluseun Sanuade
7 Replies

Thank you Daniel. I wish to calculate SNR for i traces as given by this equation: enter image description here

where ai is the amplitude scaling factor, si is the signal in the trace and ni is the noise. I expect to see arrays of SNR for i traces. I also need a code to calculate PSNR using this equation: enter image description here

where Pi is the peak value of si in the first equation and sigmal is the variance of the noise in the first equation. I attach the material in pdf that shows what I am trying to do. This is what I have so far:

SNR := Table[ 10Log[a[[i]]^2Norm[trs[[i]]^2, 2]/Norm[s[[i]]^2, 2], 10], {i, Length[trs]}];

P := Max[trs[[i]]];

PSNR := 10*Log[(a[[i]]^2 P[[i]]^2)/s^2, 10], {i, Length[trs]}; {SNR[[1]], PSNR[[1]]}

Attachments:

It is very unclear what you are asking. Please edit to add an explicit example of input and a clear description of desired output.

POSTED BY: Daniel Lichtblau

Thank you John for your help. Please find attached the page of the material for proper understanding of what I intend to do.

Regards

Attachments:
Anonymous User
Anonymous User
Posted 5 years ago