Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
10 Replies
|
10 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Handle issues in connection with GraphData for Cubic graphs?

Posted 4 years ago

Dear All,

I am really new in Mathematica, so every advice or answer is appreciated. I would like to examine the connection between the number of the vertices of a cubic graph and the diameter of the cubic graph.

As a first step I thought using GraphData["Cubic",n] would be a good idea. But if n=12 I get {Cubic,{12,91}}, {Cubic,{12,93}} and {Cubic, {12,94}} (besides another 91 graphs) which are not recognised as graphs by any other function in Mathematica (I also tried free form input). Did I make a mistake or what could go wrong? It would be important for me to find all cubic graphs for several ns.

And also if I use n=14 then there are 25 similar cases ({Cubic,{14,538}}, etc.). Is there a solution for this?

And last but not least for bigger ns GraphData gives only a few graphs but in theory there are thousands of such graphs. Are there any functions in Mathematica that provide the same results for bigger ns too? Or how are these ~20 graphs are selected by the function from the thousands of them?

Thank you for your answers and help in advance! Have a nice day!

Kind regards, Zs. Sz.

POSTED BY: Zs Sz
10 Replies

I made a new release of IGraph/M which fixes the error checking in IGImport. Now it should not blow up if it gets unexpected input.

POSTED BY: Szabolcs Horvát
Posted 4 years ago

Dear Szabolcs,

Thank You for Your previous help. My last question is the following: How should we cite the IGraph/M package in our paper?

Thank You in advance.

IGraph/M now has its own DOI, and you can find citation information here: https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.1134932 There is a "cite as" box on the right hand side, a bit down on the page.

Posted 4 years ago

Alright, thank You very much! :)

Great, I'm glad it worked :-)