Message Boards Message Boards

Importing tipping bucket raingage data

Posted 8 years ago

Hi There

I am a very new Mathematica user and have only just been making my way through the Hands-On book.

I am a hobbyist and I have a home weather system which uses a tipping bucket to measure rainfall. Basically, the bucket tips whenever it collects 0.01" of rain, so the time series is irregular and not a constant interval, i.e. the bucket tip times are irregular but the volume is always the same. Right now the data is in Excel.

Can someone guide me to how I import the irregular date and time series of constant volumes from excel and work with it, i.e. make a plot. Also, is there a way to make it a regular series of data by interpolating to say, make it a 5 or 10 minute interval and have Mathematica calculate the volume over that regular time series. I would like to calculate rainfall intensities for various periods and also have Mathematica look at the time series with a forward moving average to pick out the maximum intensity for various time periods by going stepwise through the data series to find which 5 minute interval (for example) had the highest intensity for a particular storm event.

Any advice on where to begin?

Thanks for any thoughts. Roger

POSTED BY: Roger Leventhal
7 Replies

Hi Roger,

if you have a file with more time series from different rain gauges, you might want to use the Dimensions function that I used above. There should be a change in one of the dimensions or an additional entry. That would tell you how to extract the data you want.

You can post the data with two entries and I can give it a shot.

Cheers,

M.

POSTED BY: Marco Thiel