Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
8 Replies
|
1 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Is Facebook Report feature working at all?

Posted 8 years ago

I tried generating a report and could not. I've explicitly given access to the FB app in FB settings and allow it when it asks for permissions after launching it from www.wolframalpha.com/input/?i=facebook+report. Also, I've read that blog posts that talk about FB deprecating their API and the report not being so rich anymore. However, in my case, I am not getting any report whatsoever. After allowing WolframAlpha, the control just returns to the page I started with (linked above).

What am I doing wrong? How can I generate some report, any report?

POSTED BY: Ashish Gupta
8 Replies

Hi Yolanda,

Check the Documentation. The service names are hyperlinks, click on "Twitter" and it will take you to this page which has the details and examples.

POSTED BY: Rohit Namjoshi

Hi, I'm totally new to this--can you explain how I would use "ServiceConnect[]/ServiceObject[]" to get this data?

POSTED BY: Yolanda Miller

Thank you Daman:

I was able to use ServiceConnect[]/ServiceObject[] to successfully connect and extract data from Twitter, Facebook and Linked In.

There are varying levels of supported data, but I can guess that when I dig out the corresponding APIs, lots of information will be available.

POSTED BY: Aeyoss Antelope
Posted 8 years ago

Thank you looking in to it folks. From what I read, FB blocked some access (and rightly so). Still data is available for those who've explicitly allowed (in FB) the apps to 'see' their info and activity. Still what they said will continue to work is not working.

You'll still be able to generate an analysis of most of your own activity on Facebook, but you won't have access to any information about your friends (except their names) unless they've also authorized our Facebook app.