Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
7 Replies
|
5 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

[?] Do most people use an IDE to program in Mathematica ?

Posted 7 years ago

I am new to Mathematica Programming, and I find the typing of commands into the program itself to be tough and error-prone, I want to start off with the best frontend (GUI). I have seen it works with Visual Studio ( https://www.visualstudio.com/vs ). I have also seen there is a great developer platform that works with JetBrains ( https://plugins.jetbrains.com/plugin/7232-mathematica-support ). Am I missing something in wanting an IDE? And if you develop in an environment which does you prefer. Thanks in advance to the Mathematica Community for this advice.

POSTED BY: Brian Buchholz
7 Replies
Posted 7 years ago

Wolfram Workbench is IDE for package development

POSTED BY: Tsung-Ju Yang

Am I missing something in wanting an IDE?

Yes. Mathematica is designed for interactive use, and its notebook interface beats just about every other competitor in this regard.

When you write C code, an IDE is advantageous because the workflow is: write a whole program, compile it, test it, tweak code, recompile the whole thing, run and test it again, etc.

Many other systems that are based on interpreted languages still keep a similar workflow, including MATLAB and Python: First you write the entire program, then you run it. You work with "scripts", which are entire programs.

Mathematica is much more dynamic. We do not usually write scripts. Instead, we write byte-sized pieces of code at a time, and run/test them immediately. The output is visible right away. It is a very different workflow, and it is a very different way of putting together larger programs.