Message Boards Message Boards

Calculate mean graph distance in a citation network?

Posted 6 years ago

Hi, I'm a PhD student. For my research, I'm trying to find the shortest path length of a citation network. As I understand, I can use the MeanGraphDistance function for this purpose in mathematica. However, for a citation graph similar to the following, the mean graph distance shows as infinity. Moreover, the number of connected components in this graph show up as 10 though it is a connected graph.

g = Graph[{1 -> 2, 1 -> 3, 1 -> 4, 2 -> 5, 2 -> 6, 2 -> 3, 3 -> 7, 
    3 -> 8, 4 -> 9, 4 -> 7, 4 -> 8, 4 -> 10}];
ConnectedComponents[g]
MeanGraphDistance[g]

This is the output I get
{{7}, {8}, {3}, {5}, {6}, {2}, {9}, {10}, {4}, {1}}

\[Infinity]

I'm not able to understand why. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

POSTED BY: Praveena Chandra
2 Replies

This is a directed graph, and as such it is not connected. Not every node is reachable from any other along a directed path.

In[7]:= ConnectedGraphQ[g]
Out[7]= False

But it is weakly connected:

In[8]:= WeaklyConnectedGraphQ[g]
Out[8]= True

Which is equivalent to

In[17]:= ConnectedGraphQ@UndirectedGraph[g]    
Out[17]= True

You can compute the undirected average shortest path length:

In[20]:= MeanGraphDistance@UndirectedGraph[g]
Out[20]= 32/15

igraph has shortest path computation functionality that is useful in some cases and is not available in Mathematica. You can access it from Mathematica through my IGraph/M package.

The IGAveragePathLength function differs from MeanGraphDistance in that it computes the average of all-pair shortest paths between connected nodes only. Node-pairs which are not connected are excluded.

<< IGraphM`

In[22]:= IGAveragePathLength[g]    
Out[22]= 1.4

For this directed graph, this is equivalent to

N@Mean@DeleteCases[
   Flatten@GraphDistanceMatrix[g],
   0 | Infinity
   ]

but more efficient.