Message Boards Message Boards

Create interactive graph to visualize math theorems?

Posted 8 years ago

Hello!

I'm a Math student and I'm looking for a way to create a network of the theorems I'm studying by using GraphPlot. I want my theorems to be the edges of my graph.

So far so good. This isn't of course a big issue. But I have no idea about how to make my theorems appear (one or more theorems displayed at the same time in one or more windows after CTRL-clicking on them) by clicking on the edges of my graph.

I was thinking to save each and every theorem in .pdf and .txt format, but I think I'll use the .pdf format, which allows drawing diagrams and so on.

And then, is it possible to link different graphs?

One more question: Is there any way to have the edges of my graph linked to specific locations in an external file, e.g. a pdf?

Any idea?

I'm sure this is a very good way to study interconnected theorems, especially when studying for example Archimedes' or Euclid's works and the like.

Thank in advance for your suggestions!

POSTED BY: Franco Lorenzo
4 Replies
Posted 8 years ago

Hello Patrick!

Thanks for your detailed answer. Eller borde jag kanske säga "Tack så mycket" (jag bor i Sverige...).

I think I'd be better off using using a specialized network visualization application such as Gephi and/or Cytoscape. They're open source applications, as you probably know, and among the best ones.

But I must say that Mathematica is AWESOME (I started learning it a couple of months ago), but of course there's no application capable of doing everything and anything ;-).

Thanks again!

Franco

Posted 8 years ago

Hello!

Thanks for your prompt answer and sorry for the capital letters. This was my first time post...

I need to know whether you can link the edges to specific points in an external file, not just open it.

Regards, Franco

Hello Franco,