Message Boards Message Boards

[WSS17] Computational & Critical Thinking Skills -Undergraduate Mathematics

Wolfram Summer School 2017

Background:

To be able to keep up with technological advances, there is an increased need for students from all disciplines and backgrounds to develop strong computational, communication and critical thinking skills. Students already have a full load of career specific courses, and there is little room to add courses in the curriculum that solely focus on computation, communication, critical thinking skills. For this reason, I recognize that as an instructor I have the ability and responsibility to change my instructional delivery method to encompass strategies that provide students with a strong foundation to help them develop these high-demand skills.

Motivation:

Developing these skills is important for all students, but my emphasis is on helping the underrepresented student population and those with non-traditional backgrounds. These students, traditionally face many challenges that already puts them at a disadvantage in succeeding in higher education. My hope is that by using the Wolfram Language in the classroom, I can help students overcome math and technological phobia by giving them a tool to help them visualize and contextualize the meaning of the work we do in the classroom and its relevance to the real world.

Summer Project: