Message Boards Message Boards

What Game of Thrones character do you resemble?

Posted 6 years ago

Hi all,

First time community poster here! I'll start off by saying, I am by no means an expert in machine learning. I dabble with the basic tutorials and training options offered by Wolfram, but when it comes to the guts of this stuff, I'm brand new. I say this as I think my project here is a good proof of concept on how easy it is to pick up machine learning with the Wolfram language. (Feel free to skip to the bottom of the post for a link to my notebook.)

Initial testing

To start out, I simply looked into the basic machine learning examples provided around our Mathematica 11 release, linked here. The Create a Legendary Creature Recognizer in particular is what I based my initial testing off of.

To start, I narrowed it down to two relatively different but very popular characters, Daenerys Targaryen and Jon Snow. Similar to the format in the creature recognizer, I simply imported images, associated them to the character name, and plugged this into my Classify function. To test it's capabilities, I used the "Top Probabilities" call to see with what confidence it was assigning characters.

Like I said, I'm new to machine learning, so this was a learning process for me. To my surprise, this solution was rather messy and just not at the level of accuracy I was looking for. It struggled with actors/actresses out of costume, was polluted by the background, and just didn't have enough images to be accurate.

This is what lead me to ultimately focus on 3 things when training my classifier function and eventually my neural networks. 1) Images of characters should include the actors or actresses both in and out of costume. 2) The FindFaces functions needed to be used to remove any background or outfit pollution. 3) The amount of images for each character needed to be as large as possible.

Collecting images for my dataset