Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
11 Replies
|
3 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Compute the eigenvalues and eigenvectors of a matrix?

Posted 6 years ago

Hello all,

I have been having a lot of trouble computing the eigenvalues and eigenvectors of a matrix for a problem that I am working on in computational fluid dynamics. I am new to Mathematica so I am not very familiar with the syntax and I can not find out what is wrong with my code. I have uploaded my script so that you can see how I am trying to compute the eigenvalues and eigenvectors (at the very end of the script). Any help is appreciated, thanks.

Attachments:
POSTED BY: John Thress
11 Replies

At least you have more or less simple expressions for 4 out of 6 Eigenvectors.

In case you don't know about it try

FortranForm[ eigenvector ]

I played a bit around with abbreviations in matrix A, but had no real success in making things easier to handle.

I think mma will calculate eignevectors in quite short a time if you feed numbers into matrix A, and as far as I know it is possible to connect mma to Fortran.

Kind regards HD

POSTED BY: Hans Dolhaine

No need to recur to FORTRAN: Just feed numbers in your mma-expression. E.g.

A1= A/.{gamma->.5, x1x->7, ...... and so on

You could as well try to find abbreviations for the matrix-elements of A, that could make things easier to handle.

Posted 6 years ago

Abbreviations is a good idea, I may try that. I need to eventually put it into fortran because I am working with a computational fluid dynamics solver which is written in fortran. I am trying to let mathematica do the derivation of a physical problem for me so that I can add it to a pre-existing code. Ultimately, the eigenvector calculation will need to be done thousands of times as I step through the CFD solution.

Posted 6 years ago