Message Boards Message Boards

Sharing a Bicycle

Open in Cloud | Download to Desktop via Attachments Below

enter image description here

The following question appeared in Parade Magazine's Ask Marilyn column for Sunday, May 2, 2010:

A friend and I once went from his house to mine with one bicycle. I started walking and he rode the bike. When he got a couple of blocks ahead, he left the bike on the sidewalk and started walking. When I got to the bike, I started riding, passing him, and then left the bike a couple of blocks ahead. When he got to the bike, he started riding. We did this the whole way.

At least one of us was always walking. At times, one was riding; at other times, we were both walking. I'm sure this was faster than if we had no bike. But some people insist that it was no faster because somebody was always walking. Who's right?

Marilyn's answer was: "The reader is right. It's true that someone was always walking. But neither friend walked the whole distance. Both biked part of the way. This increased their average speed, so they saved time."

As with the Monty Hall problem, numerous readers wrote in to disagree with Marilyn, insisting that since someone was always walking, the journey could be no faster than if both had walked the entire distance. What do you think?

Designating the two friends as A and B, the situation is as follows (assuming A has the bike first):

1. A rides the bike and B walks, until A is a fixed distance h ahead of B, at which time A dismounts and leaves the bike on the sidewalk.

2. A and B walk until B comes to the bike, at which time B picks it up.

3. B rides the bike and A walks, until B is a distance h ahead of A, at which time B dismounts and leaves the bike on the sidewalk.

4. A and B walk until A gets to the bike, at which time A picks it up.

Step 1 follows Step 4, and the steps repeat sequentially until the last friend reaches the other house.