Message Boards Message Boards

Periodic Production of Financial Reports

I want to use Mathematica to generate periodic (monthly, quarterly) reports broadly similiar to this example.  My goal (at present) is old fashioned desktop publishing - nothing dynamic, not CDF - just pushing a button and creating an updated report.  I need to be able to integrate data from internal files and from Bloomberg along with some standard (fixed) text and updated commentary text.  I'm an experienced Mathematica programmer (for whatever that's worth), but I can't figure out where to start on this project.  

A list of the problems I don't know how approach includes:
  1. Text boxes (grid cells) containing wrapped text,
  2. Creating regions (page length column on the left, mixed regions of text and graphics on the right
  3. Page footers,
  4. Placing the various elements of the report in the right place (grid cell) in a second notebook (the "report").
One possible approach I've been thinking about is to create a list (rows, columns) to hold the elements of the report, including fixed text, graphs that are updated, etc. and then display the list in a Grid in the report notebook.  I assume that I could control the spacing, positioning of the report elements by means of Grid options, but I haven't tried this approach yet.  

I would appreciate suggestions about how to approach this problem.

Thanks.

POSTED BY: George Wolfe
5 Replies
> I admit that getting started with the Workbench was not easy but at this point I do ~95% of my work in it.  Is just the editor that I consider way much more efficient to handle large applications.  Some reasons that quickly come to my mind: 1- get to the last edit point with Control+Q, 2- show and access all instances of a given variable or function name by just selecting it, 3- Multiple Un Do works in the Workbench, and 4 - I have never lost a line of code using the Workbench because it seldom crashes.