Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
7 Replies
|
1 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

I need assistance graphing data imported from Excel.

Good Day,

I'm new to Mathematica and need assistance graphing data that I imported from Excel. I'm hoping to eventually create a reporting portal for users. Baby steps first. The import yields a list that resembles the following:

{"Ticket Id", "Minutes Worked", "Agent"}, {2039., 60., "Joey Drews"}, {2366., 15., "Frank Davis"}, {2379., 15., "Tuyen Collins"}, {2403., 45., "Joey Drews"}, {2404., 15., "Tuyen Collins"}

I'm hoping to create a bar chart that graphs the total minutes worked per agent. Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks,
Joey Drews
POSTED BY: Joey Drews
7 Replies
Posted 11 years ago
My only resourse is the virtual book found under the Help heading, as to why I used Flatten and Partition, well, experience has tought me that when I use AppendTo, Sow, or create any lists or lists of lists imported or not that I invariably need to Flatten out the data http://reference.wolfram.com/mathematica/ref/Flatten.html.  Experience has also tought me that it's easier to just Flatten the entire data, so you don't have to worry about how deep you need to Flatten things and then Partition that data back into the original size, original being in the example 3.  I have to point out here that I am a novice Mathematica user and the code I write will probably be far from efficient or concise and the reason I have to do certain things is as a result of it not being concise enough.
POSTED BY: Paul Cleary