|
0 Replies
|
1 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Running Streak Counter

Hello everyone!

After I finished reading An Elementary Introduction to Wolfram Language earlier this year, I was so excited to try out something that would be useful in my own life. Before I get into what I did, I'll just give a little background.

I have been running for several years now, and in September of 2017 I decided that I would start a "run streak." A running streak is defined as running at least 1 mile (1.61km) every calendar day consecutively. I did this mostly because I found that I couldn't stick to only running 3 or 4 days a week - I would suddenly find myself not having run for several weeks or months. A little while before I started my running streak, I began using RunKeeper to track my runs. I would go to the RunKeeper website and copy all my running data to an excel spreadsheet to see how I was doing by hand.

I knew there had to be a better way, and once I was introduced to Wolfram Language I was sure I could do much better!

First, I used ServiceConnect and retrieved my running data from my last 1250 days (The service returns running data in chunks of 25 once given a date) using NestList

runkeeper=ServiceConnect["RunKeeper","New"]
runkeeper["UserData"]["Name"] (*Display Username after logging in to RunKeeper, just to make sure*)
data=runkeeper["FitnessActivities","NoLaterThan"->#]&/@NestList[DayPlus[#,-25]&,Today,50]

Great! But to do cool things with the data it needs to be cleaned up a bit since there are empty entries which will return errors, and the data is a list of associations which isn't nice to deal with.

cleandata[d_]:=ArrayFlatten[d//.{}->Sequence[],1]
dataset=Dataset[cleandata[data]]

People often record other activities using RunKeeper like swimming, biking etc. But only running should be included in any calculations so that needs to be defined.

runningdataset=dataset[Select[#Type\[Equal]"Running"&]]