Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
5 Replies
|
0 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

DSolve - Why is example code giving me incorrect results when run?

Posted 5 years ago

I am new to Mathematica and am particularly struggling with its differential equation solving capacity. Most recently, I have encountered a completely baffling issue where even the example code straight from the included documentation does not behave the same way when I evaluate it in a notebook. At right in the reference documentation for DSolve; at left is what happens when I paste exactly those same equations into a fresh notebook. Notably, one of them even throws an error! I am completely at a loss for what is going on here. Has anyone else encountered this issue?

A screenshot of the notebook in question, with the docs on the right and the output on the left

POSTED BY: Maxwell Greason
5 Replies

If you do something like:

x=1

That means "whenever you see x, replace it with 1". You thus cannot subsequently use x as a free variable in your session.

POSTED BY: John Doty

Could you post a notebook where your problem occurrs?

POSTED BY: Hans Dolhaine

Hans,

I am new to DSolve, and I had a similar problem too. Clear[x,y] followed by the DSolve worked. I cannot explain why I had to give Clear[x,y] command. May be someone will explain.

Vijay

POSTED BY: Vijay Vemuri

You could try to quit the kernel : Evaluation -> Quit Kernel.

That leaves your notebook intact, but seems to forget everything that had happended before ( the definitions you might have to use as well).

POSTED BY: Hans Dolhaine