Message Boards Message Boards

Convert time vs accelerometer data to plot a random vibration PSD plot?

Posted 5 years ago

Hello,

I tried to convert a recorded time vs accele data from an accelerometer to generate a random vibration PSD plot, and then calculate Grms. There are some Matlab and Python scripts available online to do this kind of thing, but it seems no Mathematica codes. I'm new to Mathematica and tried the following codes, however, the output seems to be not right as it is different from Matlab/Python. Also I don't know how to get Grms.

Can anyone help and provide some insights on how to do this? A sample raw accelerometer data file is attached. Thanks in advance!

My codes:

tempdata = 
  N[Import["UPS_freight_impact.csv", "Table", 
    "FieldSeparators" -> {","}]];

myseries = tempdata[[1 ;; 2^IntegerPart[13.2874], All]];
Length[myseries]

tsamp = myseries[[2, 1]] - myseries[[1, 1]];

psddata = 
  Abs[Fourier[myseries, FourierParameters -> {1, -1}]]^2/
   Length[myseries];

ListLogLogPlot[tsamp*psddata[[All, 2]], Frame -> True, Joined -> True, 
 PlotRange -> All, 
 FrameLabel -> {"Frequency (Hz)", "Accelerometer PSD G^2/Hz"}, 
 FrameStyle -> 
  Directive[Black, 14, FontFamily -> "Arial", AbsoluteThickness[2]]]
Attachments:
POSTED BY: Delan Chen
9 Replies
Posted 5 years ago

Hi Neil, thank you again very much for your great help!

Hi John,

What I want to do is to develop a random vibe testing PSD profile based on the actual accelerometer data to realistically shake my devices. PSD plot is a power spectrum density plot.