Message Boards Message Boards

Save outputs from ImageContents?

Posted 4 years ago

Hi everyone, I'm a non-CS background student, attempting to use the very cool feature from Wolfram, the function ImageContents[ ] that identifies objects and elements of an image.

For example: if i use the function for an image of a sheep, sitting in a grassland, it will identify where it is located in the image, the dimensions of the sheep and the probability that it is an actual sheep.

ImageContents Function being used on an image, and its respective output

However, I'm not sure how to extract this output and save it for reference. I've tried copy-paste(which didn't really work) and even if it did, I'm afraid I have too many images(about 500 images) to do that. Is there a function or feature that can store this output in a file? A simple excel file should do the trick since it is basically saving coordinates and numbers. I've done the tutorials for image processing, but I don't think saw anything related to this issue.

Any help or advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

POSTED BY: Suraj Paneru
3 Replies

Suraj,

The problem is that the Dataset has images in it. If you keep the images, you can export them as CSV but they will be in Numeric Array form (which can be recovered later as an Image).

Look at the help for Dataset -- it discusses the Export formats. (http://reference.wolfram.com/language/ref/Dataset.html) search for Exporting Datasets.

If your goal is to export it and import it later to Mathematica than you want the "MX" format. This will preserve everything.

You can also get a complete Association by doing Normal[] on the Dataset. If you strip off the image column you can export it as a textual CSV.

Regards,

Neil

POSTED BY: Neil Singer