|
6 Replies
|
5 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Import multiple data files in same Mathematica notebook

Posted 4 years ago

Greetings forum, I am not an expert in Mathematica, but I managed to learn by myself recently, My code and 2 data files are attached. The problem that I have is that I have multiple data files. I want to import all of them and be able to analyze and visualize them in the same notebook. I have problem defining variables, in my notebook you can see that I am importing 1st text file as "MyPoints400" then I can define some variables and plot them. But then when I want to do the same procedure for the next text file, I have to rename all the variables because they are already in use. Now for the next data file (xypoints300.txt) I have to change "MyPoints1" to "MyPoints2" , "pAll" to "pAll2" , etc. Can you help me clean my code in such a way that I first import all my text files and then have the set of variables so I don't have to copy / paste and rename them for each data file. Thank you in advance.

POSTED BY: Caio Moto
6 Replies

Caio,

How about

files = FileNames["/Users/CM/Desktop/*.txt"]
datasets = Map[Import[#, "Data"] &, files]

Now you will have a list of all your dataset in "datasets". You can map your analysis on the datasets, etc.

Regards,

Neil

POSTED BY: Neil Singer

And, as I suggested before, give each function as an additional argument the dataset. For example, using the files and datasets given in Neil's reply:

files = FileNames["~/Downloads/Moto_data/*.txt"]   (* change as needed *)
datasets = Map[Import[#, "Data"] &, files];

vecMatDist[vec_?VectorQ, mat_?MatrixQ] := EuclideanDistance[vec, #] & /@ mat

nebs[i_, xy_] := Flatten@Position[vecMatDist[xy[[i]], Delete[xy, i]], _?(# < 12 &)]
lis[xy_] := nebs[#, xy] & /@ Range[Length@xy]

plotAll[xy_] := ListPlot[xy, AspectRatio -> Automatic, 
  PlotStyle -> PointSize[0.0051], PlotRange -> {{0, 1200}, {0, 700}}]

plotP[i_, xy_] := ListPlot[{xy[[i]]},