Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
5 Replies
|
3 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

How to input an equation with implicit variables?

Posted 11 years ago
I want to input an equation, to be solved later in combination with many other equations, that reads f(q,t) == g(1/t, 1/q), where f and g are some functions of q and t to be determined precisely by the other equations.  The problem is, I don't know how to input this equation: if I just use variables f and g and then write something like f/.{t->q, q->t} == g, then the replacement rule evaluates immediately and the equation to be solved becomes f==g, which is not what I want.  How should I input this equation into Mathematica?  Sorry if this question is obvious--I'm a Mathematica novice.
POSTED BY: Tom Rudelius
5 Replies
Hello Tom, Perhaps I am still not getting it.  I am guessing that you are using parenthesis above for two different things (grouping and functions; functions use a square bracket notation) But, doesn't this little experiment suggest that you will not get a unique solution?

Combining both of your equations:
eq[g_, t_, q_] := (1 + t) g[t, q]  == (1 + 1/q) g[1/q, 1/t]

Example arbitrary function of two variables:
 ftest1[x_, y_] := (y^2/x)
 ftest2[x_, y_] := (x^2/y)

eq[ftest1, t, q]
 eq[ftest2, t, q]
 eq[ArcTan, t , q]

With[
  {equation1 = eq[ftest1, t, q], equation2 = eq[ArcTan, t , q], 
  equation3 = eq[ftest2, t, q]},
ContourPlot[{equation1, equation2, equation3}, {t, -10, 10}, {q, -10,
    10}, ContourStyle -> {{Red, Thickness[0.02], Dashed}, {Blue, 
     Thickness[0.01]}, {Green}}]
]
Seems to show that there common values of t and q are satisfied simultaneously by three different functions.
POSTED BY: W. Craig Carter
Posted 11 years ago
I realize you probably haven't considered looking at your problem from this perspective,
but DSolve can sometimes find unknown functions given some information about them.