Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
0 Replies
|
0 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

ImageTransformation and the concept of loss function in machine learning.

Posted 3 years ago

First of all I'd like to put as a disclaimer that I am not an expert in machine learning in any way whatsoever, I'm just an interested layman who occasionally thinks about these stuff, and tonight I'm bored under that lockdown and I feel like asking a question on this subject that has been bothering me for quite a while. It's also late and I've learned that writing stuff during the night is usually a bad idea, but yolo, I guess.

That being said, here I go.

The gist of it is that I'm kind of wondering how machine learning algorithms deal with the concept of loss functions, as I suspect that there is a lot of room for improvement in this regard.

I first had this thought while I was watching a report about a CycleGAN demo that turned a horse into a zebra. It's easy to find on YouTube. Here is a gif :

horse to zebra CycleGAN

What I immediately thought while looking at this video was :

but it only changes the colors, it doesn't change the shape.

That kind of bothered me. It seemed to me that such algorithm would only work to change an object into an other one with exact same shape. It would struggle to change say a horse into an elephant, or a dog into a cat. Now, I've seen transitions from dogs to cats before, so I suppose some algorithms are capable of changing shapes, but then why was this CycleGAN algorithm not doing it ? I know that the shape of a horse is very similar to that of a zebra, but still it is not the same, and it was clear on the video that the algorithm didn't change the shape at all, not even a little bit.