Message Boards Message Boards

Error while using NDSolve?

Posted 3 years ago

Hi everyone

I am new to Wolfram.Mathematica. I am having issues with NDSolve as seen in the cloud notebook below. This is modeling a complicated chain of chemical reactions. The rate constants are seen as the first input, the rate for each reaction is shown in the second input, and the equations/variables for NDSolve are the 3rd and 4th inputs. I get an error in NDSolve that the values are not a list of numbers with dimensions and I get an error when I try to plot it that says the input value lies outside the range of data from the interpolating function. Also, I know the value of E6 at equilibrium (at long-ish time) should be 0.499949. Any help is appreciated! Thank you!

Here is the cloud link: https://www.wolframcloud.com/obj/7b729196-feb8-42d2-8c5a-2f99af81711e

POSTED BY: Maggie Purvis
Posted 3 years ago

You have k4r,k5r,k6r that are not defined in your notebook and somehow, for reasons I cannot explain yet, show up in the output of your NDSolve.

As a temporary measure I put

k4r=1;k5r=1;k6r=1;

at the beginning of your notebook.

Then at the bottom of your notebook you have

s=NDSolve[eqs/.kp->10^5, vars, {t,0,.001}]
Plot[Evaluate[Z5[t]/.s,{t,0,1},PlotRange->{0,0.5}]

where you appear to have solved the system over the range 0<=t<=.001, but your next line tries to evaluate this system over 0<=t<=1.

I made another change to those two lines

s=vars/.NDSolve[eqs/.kp->10^5,vars, {t,0,.001}][[1]]
Plot[s,{t,0,.000107163}]

I chose 0<=t<=.000107163 because of the error message from NDSolve saying that the system had failed at that time. That may be because of the choices I made for k4r,k5r,k6r.

But that did display what appear to be graphs of all your functions.

If I change one line of that to

s=Z5[t]/.NDSolve[eqs/.kp->10^5,vars, {t,0,.001}][[1]]

then it appears to plot Z5[t]

Can you try to reproduce exactly what I have done and see if you get exactly the same result?