|
2 Replies
|
1 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Swinging damped pendulum system: parameters in body and damper

Posted 2 years ago

Hi All, I am complete newbie to Wolfram System Modeler and have not had any training on the system. Trying to figure it out as I go.

I need to do simulation of pendulum on Wolfram System modeler. Model includes world, revolute with rotational damper and body. Revolute rotating on z-axis's. I was able to add body mass, distance from revolute(length of string) and start angle to the requires parameters in the model. I have 2 uncertainties:

1) I am not sure where I need to add the inertia in the model under the body. When selecting body in model, it shows the inertia tensor. Under inertia tensor the are I11, I22,I33...... Under which I ... do I need the add the inertia? See attached.

2) The damping force coefficient is a given as 0.00142 kg/s. When selecting damper in the model the damping constant unit is in Nms/rad. How do I convert or calculate kg/s to Nms/rad or is there a way to change the Nms/rad unit? See attached.

If any addition info are required, please let me know.

Thank you in advance for replies

Attachments:
POSTED BY: Tiaan Venter
2 Replies

Hi Tiaan,

Let me answer first the second question.

The units that you have for that damping constant, 0.00142 kg/s, makes me think that you have a translational damping constant instead of a rotational damping constant. The latter is the one expected in the parameter d of the damper component. Assuming that this was not a typo, the most likely case here is that your value, 0.00142 kg/s, actually corresponds to d/l^2, where l is the distance from the pivot of your pendulum to the center of mass of the body, in meters. Hence, d = 0.00142 * l^2.