10 Replies
|
5 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Showing countdown output in fullscreen?

Posted 2 years ago

Hi All,

I'm a complete novice with no programming knowledge and need some help. I'm trying to create a countdown timer to give to my partner, but having issues as no clue what I'm doing. I have a Raspberry Pi with 5" touchscreen, and some kind soul has provided me with the following code using Mathematica.

(* Countdown to 8AM Christmas Morning, for example. *)
Dynamic[ DateDifference[
Now, {2021, 12, 25, 8}, {"Days","Hours","Minutes"} ],
UpdateInterval -> 0.5 ] // Print

The output is only printing the countdown below the above code snippet, where ideally I would like to get timer to display fullscreen using the full real estate the LCD can provide (ideally with a picture behind it if possible).

I've been searching for any information online but I'm either searching the wrong terms or looking in the wrong places. So wondering if anyone here can help.

POSTED BY: Steven White
10 Replies
Posted 2 years ago

Thank you, that is much clearer. Just wondering if it's possible to get rid of the white border, and fill the screen?

Think for what my partner wants it will work, but I know it will trigger her OCD lol.

Again can't thank you enough.

Attachment

Attachments:
Posted 2 years ago

Updated so it's using an image from the Pi itself to see if I could that got rid of the white boarder on the right, but still doesn't fill the screen.

Also looking to change the colour to something bolder. For this would i just need to add the code Style[1/Sqrt[2], FontColor -> Red]

into the existing code?

Steven,

my first guess was that your system does not know MixedUnit - so I tried to improve the code without this command. But anyway. Here is a somewhat nicer version:

textSize = 140;
textColor = Red;
imageSize = Full; img = 
 Import["https://images.freeimages.com/images/large-previews/13d/xmas-decoration-1360454.jpg", ImageSize -> imageSize];
CreateDocument[