|
38 Replies
|
1 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Avoiding procedural programming

Posted 2 years ago

I am very new to Mathematica and have to rethink my 'procedural' ways of programming. That is not always easy. I am making progress, but here I have no clue, besides going down the 'repeat and if' rabbit hole.

I create a list of random integers. I have a Dynamic Slider to adjust delta (between 0 and 20). Let's say the Slider is adjusted to value 10.

Now I want all the integers in the list that are 10 or less apart, to become the same integer.

E.g. myIntegers = {11,28,66,36,94,8,44}

After the 'treatment' the list should be : {11,28,66,28,94,11,44} The 36 is within 10 from 28 and the 8 is also within 10 from 11, so in both cases the integer within the delta range gets to be the value of the first (36 becomes 28).

How could I go about this problem in a functional or symbolic way?

POSTED BY: B. Cornas
38 Replies
Posted 2 years ago

Here is the Dynamic result I made from your solutions. I applied the solution of Hans Michel, but I will make versions with the other solutions as well, just to learn. Thanks again to all of you :-)

Attached the nb with my latest version.

Beat

Attachments:
Posted 2 years ago

There is a snag I've ran into already a couple of times and so I do here.

When I make a variable that gets it's value (here a List) from a Dynamic[ xxxx code xxxxx], then I cannot work with that variable anymore.
E.g.

resizeFactor = 0.8;
Row[{Slider[Dynamic[resizeFactor], {0.1, 2}]}]

ptsSeedX = Table[RandomInteger[100], numLinesMax];

(*   make scaled copies and displace them  *)

resize1X =   Dynamic[Round[Times[ptsSeedX, resizeFactor]]]

offsetX = RandomInteger[{-50, 50}]   (* A  random OffsetX  *)

(*   BOTH LINES BELOW DO NOT WORK   *)

displace1X = resize1X + offsetX   
displace1X ={ resize1X} + offsetX

I get something in the form of : 20+{24,23,47,11} being the OffsetX + the List "resize1X"