Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
5 Replies
|
6 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

How can I model a scissor mechanism in SystemModeler?

Posted 2 years ago

I'm new to SystemModeler and the underlying modeling Language Modelica. I would like to do model a scissor mechanism and I don't quite see how to do it within the Modelica Mechanics Library.

I want an idealized model so I want to neglect the mass of the mechanism and let it act as a linear motion amplificator. That is, given its three connectors a, b and c, I want the component to simply impose the equation xb - xa = lambda * (xc - xa), where lambda is a scalar parameter between 0 and 1.

I want to work in one dimension so I suppose I should be able to use the Modelica.Mechanics.Translational library, but even that seems complicated. As I see it, most components in the library have two flanges, not three. Maybe I should extend PartialTwoFlangesAndSupport? Or should I write my own component without deriving it from the library? If so what would it look like? Would it have a third flange name flange_c?

POSTED BY: Lucien Grondin
5 Replies

Lucien,

Again, the modeling depends on what you are trying to capture with the model. For example, I grabbed a picture of a single scissors mechanism from this technical paper:

enter image description here

If your input is the distance, h, then the mechanism is a simple, linear transmission with a 1:2 gear ratio between input, h and output, H. This is easily modeled with two IdealGearR2T blocks -- one with a 1:1 ratio to move from translation to rotation with no ratio and a second one to go from rotation back to translation with a 1:2 ratio (output is twice the input). The two blocks together form a linear transmission (I do not believe there is a single linear to linear gear block built into WSM). You can then add springs, masses, and input sources to provide the forces to move the mechanism.