Message Boards Message Boards

Simultaneously solving two equations and fitting with one set of datapoints

Posted 1 year ago

Dear All,

I am new in Mathematica.

I am trying to fit two equations (Ferromagnetic Resonance equations) simultaneously by FindRoot. And then fitting with one set of data to estimate the two parameters.

First I simulate the two equations by FindRoot. It is working well. (attached file 1)

Second I am trying to fit with data points, It showing some error. (attached file 2)

Could please give suggestions how to Improve it and where is incorrect code.

The equations are given. The data points are in the file. X-> thetaH (in radian) and y-> H (Magnetic field in Gauss)

I would like to estimate the value of Ku and K4.

In equation3(a) is the function of two angle thetha H and theta. Only ThetaH is know. To calculate the theta, I solve equation 1(a) and 3(a) simultaneously.

Please have a look the Mathematica file.

Thanks, Best Regards, Sukanta

Attachments

10 Replies

Dear Sukanta,

ok. theta is unknown. I am afraid that your problem is next to impossiible, this can be due to numeric problems and / or the existence of multiple solutions. At least I got several times error messages (fail to converge...).

Look at the notbook attached (last part). I tried to simplify eq3a by rescaling the variables and parameters. There are several solutions to eq3a, see the 1st Manipulate. Well ok, this approach does not take eq1a into accout..... . But I think rescaling is a good idea for numerical purposes. One can recalculate the wanted parameters from the rescaled ones.

Then there is fH2rez. For given theta, Ku, K4 it returns thetaH and H, the coordinates of the points in T1. dist calculates the square of the distance between the point given by fH2rez and a point (here #5) of T1. (You could as well use Norm).