|
4 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Depth-First Search of a Directed Graph

Posted 10 years ago
I have a directed graph on Mathematica that looks like this:

{File1 -> File10, File3 -> File6, File3 ->File 12, etc.}

I would like to search the graph for  and break the graph into various connected components. I do not need to be able to visualize the graph itself, just get the text for its connected components. The graph has roughly 15000 nodes and 75000 edges.

If that graph is too large for Mathematica to dissolve into connected components, could you at least explain the code for dissolving a smaller graph into connected components? I'm fairly new to Mathematica and have heard of the ConnectedComponents command, but am unsure how to use it practically.

Thank you for your help emoticon
POSTED BY: Pat Dillon
2 Replies
There is a built in function:

g = RandomGraph[{15000, 75000}, DirectedEdges -> True];

ConnectedComponents[g] // Length
Out[]= 190
POSTED BY: Sam Carrettie
Posted 10 years ago
If graphs and Mathematica are an interest of yours then you might see if you can get a copy of "Computational Discrete Mathematics: Combinatorics and Graph Theory with Mathematica(tm)" by Pemmaraju and Skiena. I think that is an essential book to have nearby when dealing with graphs in Mathematica.

Perhaps unfortunately, there have been some changes in Mathematica recently that make using the book slightly less convenient. Parts of the functionality of the graph theory package provided by the authors have been implemented inside Mathematica and that can cause some confusion.

This is an example from page 285 of the book using the package to look for connected components in a directed graph.
 In[1]:= << Combinatorica`

During evaluation of In[1]:= General::compat: Combinatorica Graph and Permutations functionality has been
 superseded by preloaded functionality. The package now being loaded may conflict with this. Please see the
 Compatibility Guide for details.