|
11 Replies
|
2 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Point rotation in Quaternion?

Posted 1 year ago

I am a newbie investigating the migration from python(sympy) to Mathematica.

I have looked through the quaternion documentation and cannot find any functionality equivalent to inverse or point rotation (rotate_point in sympy).

I can't find any information on the web, what are you guys doing?

POSTED BY: A Kim
11 Replies
Posted 1 year ago

In an earlier post I wrote:

Note also that the standard package does not handle symbolic quaternions

Well, the standard package does handle symbolic input to some functions. NonCommutativeMultiply is one example. But several functions does not accept symbolic input. So it is better to say that symbolic support is limited.

POSTED BY: Hans Milton
Posted 1 year ago

That makes sense.

I see that the quaternion-related matters in Mathematica are quite complicated. I will first try to see if the standard package and your QuaternionsHM can be adapted to my use case.

Thanks for your help.

Posted 1 year ago

Is there any way to explicitly handle the unit quaternion for the rotation?

Not clear to me what you mean. Please explain a bit more.

Also how can I get the components of the inverse quaternion?

Use Conjugate[q] if the quaternion is symbolic, otherwise you can also use q^-1

Posted 1 year ago

Not clear to me what you mean. Please explain a bit more.

Sorry. My understanding and explanation was not clear enough.

For example, Julia's library rotation.jl has a QuatRotation that represents a unit quaternion. Since your package is 3D rotation oriented, I was wondering if you have such a mechanism.

Use Conjugate[q] if the quaternion is symbolic, otherwise you can also use q^-1

I got it!

Oh,really? I had not considered that some mathematica packages do not support symbolic processing.

There is a description of quaternion on this page, but does it not support symbolic processing?

Posted 1 year ago