|
4 Replies
|
0 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Solving system of equations takes too long

Posted 1 year ago

Hi. I am new to Wolfram Mathematica and stuck with the following problem for a few days. I am modelling an optical axis in nonplanar optical cavity. There are 4 planar reflective surfaces, the beam is reflected from each of them so that it turns into itself after one roundtrip, the optical axis is a quadrangle in 3d. Let us assume the beam hits the reflective surfaces in points {x1,y1,z1}...{x4,y4,z4}, 4 linear equations will define that those points belong to corresponding planes, 4 more equations are triple products showing that incident and reflected rays are in the same plane with the normal vector of reflective surface, and 4 more equation are dot product showing that the angle of incidence is equal to the angle of reflection. So we have 12 variables and 12 equation total:

Here I fully defined the reflective planes with a,b,c,d coefficients, ray vectors p1,p2,p3,p4 are defined through dot coordinates, and I expect to find at least one numerical solution. The code runs for hours with no result. I previously solved this problem numerically with a parameterized 3d model in Autocad and a simple python script for sending random initial points in CAD through API and checking if the beam reproduces itself. I tried Mathematica to confirm my results and ideally to find an analytical solution where a,b,c,d are undefined parameters via Reduce[]. However, my code could not find even a single numerical solution over night (this takes a few sec of random search using CAD). What am I doing wrong here?

Attachment

Attachments:
POSTED BY: Val Semenov
4 Replies
Posted 1 year ago

Obviously the task is solvable, and I managed to make it work rewriting the code according to your recommendations: