Message Boards Message Boards

Solving a specific initial value problem

Posted 1 year ago

Hi, I am completely new to Mathematica and I really need some advice on solving a specific initial value problem numerically.

The differential equation is: θ''[x] - p^2 sin[2θ[x]] == 0 , x = {0,1}

for p = π/(2 Sqrt[2])

The initial values are θ'[0] == 0; θ[0] == {0, 2π}.

So I need to solve the equation for various initial angles θ[0] from 0 to 2π

Ι tried it with a For-Loop, but it is not working.
I would like to get a list of angles θ[1] after solving the equation for different initial angles θ[0]
I need to plot the angle θ[0] over the resulting angle θ[1].

Thanks for your help!

Attachments:
POSTED BY: Felix Toperczer
6 Replies

The following works fine for me, although with a different answer:

Clear[x];
p = Pi/(2 Sqrt[2]);
dgl = \[Theta]''[x] - p^2 Sin[2 \[Theta][x]] == 0;
sol = NDSolve[{dgl, \[Theta][0] == Pi/2, \[Theta]'[0] == 
    0}, \[Theta], {x, 0, 1}]
entry = \[Theta][1] /. sol[[1]]

I cannot reproduce the error you get, but it is similar to what we happens when the independent variable of a differential equation is given a value before NDSolve is called:

x = 0;
NDSolve[{f'[x] == 1, f[0] == 0}, f, {x, 0, 1}]

The variables f, x are not automatically protected from outside interference. However, in your case there must be something else going on.

POSTED BY: Gianluca Gorni

This is the mathematical pendulum equation for the oscillatory case.

Mathematica solves it directly, but the form of the solution is a bit weird, because the Jacobi amplitude is primarily defined for rotational modes with veloctiy :>0 at [Theta] = Pi,.

DSolveValue[\[Theta]''[t] - \[Pi]^2/8 Sin[2 \[Theta][t]] ==   0  , \[Theta][t], t] 

JacobiAmplitude[(I Sqrt[\[Pi]^2-8 C[1] (t+C[2]))/(2 Sqrt[2]),(2 \[Pi]^2)/(\[Pi]^2-8 C[1])]