Message Boards Message Boards

How to find out why my cloud notebook $Failed?

Posted 11 months ago

Hi,

I am an experienced Mathematica programmer but new to the Wolfram cloud. I have a notebook that works correctly on my local machine (MacBook Pro M2; Ventura 13.2.1; Mathematica 13.2). I am trying to get it to run on the Wolfram cloud. I can upload it successfully and open the notebook without problem. But when I scroll to where I expect to see the output of my program (a Manipulate), I get $Failed. When I run the program manually, it completes, but shows no output. I have tried setting MemoryConstrained[..., Infinity] and TimeConstrained[..., Infinity] without success.

I can find no helpful document on $Failed. Can anyone suggest how I can learn more about the failure? More generally, are there Guidelines or Best Practices for moving notebooks to the cloud. I have read the following Wolfram material: [Working in the Cloud][1] and its linked documents and the Wolfram Community Cloud Group posts.

Thanks,

Spencer

Edit:

With the help of support@wolfram.com, I was able to resolve this problem. It turns out that my notebook included a very large image (\ $stars) within the Manipulate. I found a way to generate this image much more parsimoniously (using Point[ImageScaled/@RandomReal[{0, 1}, {n, 2}]] directly). The $Failed reflects my exceeding an internal memory limitation.

POSTED BY: Spencer Rugaber
4 Replies

Hi Spencer,

Could you please include your notebook or code to your post?

Have you tried to evaluate your Manipulate on your desktop first with the option SaveDefinitions->True ?
This will allow your Manipulate output to work on fresh kernels and Cloud.

POSTED BY: Ahmed Elbanna

Hi,