|
3 Replies
|
0 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Package function doesn't plot math function when given as input

Posted 13 days ago

Hi everybody! I'm new to Mathematica and I'm trying to learn to write some basic code to create a DialogInput in which the user writes the function to plot.

I'd like to understand how packages work, so I'm trying to move the function GuessTheFunctionGUI in the package, leaving just the call of the package function in the notebook.

When I leave the GuessTheFunctionGUI in the notebook everything works fine, but at the moment when I run the code and write the function in the InputField then the Plot is not dynamically updated (to tell the truth, nothing is plotted).

Any tips on what I'm messing? My idea is that the Private scope of the function doesn't allow updating dynamically the value of the math function in the plot.

Notebook.nb

Get["Package.wl"];

ButtonBox["Start", Appearance -> Automatic, 
  ButtonFunction :> 
   FrontEndExecute[FrontEndToken["EvaluateNotebook"]], 
  Evaluator -> Automatic, Method -> "Preemptive"] // DisplayForm
GuessTheFunctionGUI[];

Package.wl

BeginPackage["Package`"];

GuessTheFunctionGUI::usage = "GuessTheFunctionGUI[]";

Begin["`Private`"];
SetDirectory[NotebookDirectory[]];

GuessTheFunctionGUI[] := DynamicModule[{func = ""},
  DialogInput[
  Column[{
    InputField[Dynamic[func], String, FieldHint -> "Insert the function here"],
    Dynamic@Plot[ToExpression[func], {x, -10, 10}, PlotStyle -> Blue, 
      AxesLabel -> {"x", "y"}, PlotLabel -> "Function plot", ImageSize -> Medium]
    }],
    WindowTitle -> "Interactive Plot", WindowSize -> {500, 500}, 
    WindowMargins -> {{Automatic, 0}, {0, Automatic}}, 
    WindowElements -> {"VerticalScrollBar", "HorizontalScrollBar", "StatusArea"}
  ]]

End[];
EndPackage[];

I don't know if this is relevant too, but the version of Mathematica that I'm using is the following:

$Version
"14.0.0 for Microsoft Windows (64-bit) (December 13, 2023)"