Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
0 Replies
|
0 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Why doesn't a volume fraction algorithm agree with what was programmed?

Hey,

I'm relatively new at coding, and I'm using Mathematica to create a 3D image of ellipsoids in a box. I have an array of major semi-axis lengths for the ellipsoids that I want, call it "axis", e.g.

axis = {16,16,14,12,10,8,6};

Now I have a desired ellipsoid volume fraction, call it "vol".

vol = 0.02; (or 2% volume fraction of ellipsoids)

The relationship of ellipsoid major semi-axis/minor semi-axis is "N", e.g. major semi-axis = N*minor semi-axis. The total volume of the ellipsoids is given by

total = Total[4/3Piaxis*(axis/N)^2];

I back-calculate the box dimension "h" to obtain the desired volume fraction using

h = (total/vol)^(1/3) since total/h^3 = vol

Now I have all of the information that I need for my ellipsoids and my box. I use an algorithm to place these ellipsoids in the box at random as follows:

img = {FaceForm[], EdgeForm[], Cuboid[{0, 0, 0}, {h, h, h}]}; (make a transparent box without edges)

(Graylevel ellipsoids in 3D) For[k = 1, k <= Length[totalparticles], k++, guessCount = 1;

(create an ellipsoid) While[k == k, longleng = totalparticles[[k]]; (*this is a dummy variable so that \ the ellipsoids are guaranteed not to extend beyond the box*)

(create the center point of the ellipsoid using three offsets) xoff = RandomReal[{0 + longleng, h - longleng}]; (*randomly choose a value between 0 and the \ width of the image to use as an x offset for the ellipsoid centroid*)

yoff = RandomReal[{0 + longleng, h - longleng}]; (*randomly choose a value between 0 and the \ width of the image to use as a y offset for the ellipsoid centroid*)

zoff = RandomReal[{0 + longleng, h - longleng}]; (*randomly choose a value between 0 and the \ width of the image to use as a z offset for the ellipsoid centroid*)

obj = Ellipsoid[{xoff, yoff, zoff}, {axis[[k]], axis[[k]]/N, axis[[k]]/N}];