Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
4 Replies
|
0 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Why I am getting Abs' when I am doing derivative over a complex function?

Posted 10 years ago

Hi all,

I am pretty new in Mathematica, so that might be a simple question!

I am defining a function in complex space, then I am trying to use its module and argument (Abs and arg). At the end of the day, I'd like to take derivative of that. The output seems pretty weird for me. I am getting Abs' and do not know how to deal with that. Here is the sample of my work:

T1[A_, B_, f] = (A + I*B)*f;
Rho1 = Log[Abs[T1[A, B, f]]] - Log[Abs[11 + I*22]]
D[Rho1, A]
(f Abs'[(A + I B) f])/Abs[(A + I B) f]

And even when I evaluate that after ComplexExpand at a simple point it gives me wrong answer:

ComplexExpand(f Abs'[(A + I B) f])/
 Abs[(A + I B) f] /. {A -> 2 , B -> 1 , f -> 100}
1/Sqrt[5]

But it should be 2/5!

I am wondering if any one has some idea in relate of that. I have attached the file as well.

Thanks, Sardar

Attachments:
POSTED BY: Ali Mousavian
4 Replies

If it is a real-valued function f[z] of a complex-valued variable x=x+I*y, then you really have to consider separately D[f,x] and D[f,y]. You are, in effect, not distinguishing (I was tempted to say "differentiating") between these, and that is messing things up. It will also be necessary to write the function in such a way that dependencies on {x,y} are explicit.

POSTED BY: Daniel Lichtblau
Posted 10 years ago

Thanks for your response David,