|
8 Replies
|
2 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Laptop compatibility for Raspberry Pi

Posted 10 years ago

I am just getting started with Raspberry Pi. Am I seeing boards that require a desktop or are you suppose to use enclosures?

POSTED BY: Douglas Youvan
8 Replies
Posted 10 years ago

You're quite welcome, Doug. And that is about the last time I used Unix -- until the Pi. But I still keep a sharpened wood stake next to my desk in case vi tries to emerge from its coffin!

POSTED BY: David Keith
Posted 10 years ago

And still one more thing: I thought I should be really clear -- my configuration for the Pi is unusual. The straightforward way to use Mathematica on the Pi is to plug a monitor, keyboard and mouse into the Pi and run Raspbian (the OS) using the built in GUI. Mathematica runs on the Pi just like that, with no other computer involved. The Pi is the only computer needed.

Aside from the information on Mathematica on the Pi, you need to learn about the Pi itself, and the Pi operating system called Raspbian, which is a version of Unix. The best place to start learning those things is here Raspberry Pi.org --

You may know all of this -- but it seemed to me my adventures with the Pi could be confusing.

Kind regards,

David

David,

That was very nice of you to go to all of the trouble to explain this to me.

This reminds me of ~ 1987 when people started moving from Unix workstations to the 387! I sure hope that vi editor does not reappear!

Doug

Posted 10 years ago