Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
4 Replies
|
2 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

How to see elided results in WolframAlpha[] queries from Wolfram Language?

Posted 9 years ago

Hi folks,

Apologies if this is a stupid question. I'm very new to Wolfram Language and Wolfram|Alpha. I've spent the last 20-30 minutes exploring the Wolfram Language documentation, but I can't figure out if I'm having trouble with Wolfram Language syntax or the Wolfram|Alpha API.

When I query Wolfram|Alpha from Wolfram Language, sometimes the results I get are partially elided. For example:

In[17]:= WolframAlpha["satellites overhead"]                                    
Out[17]= {{{Input, 1}, Plaintext} -> all visible satellites | now, 
{{NumberOfAllVisibleSatellites, 1}, Plaintext} -> 1875, 
{{VisibleNonDebrisSatellitesAtDatFromLocation, 1}, Plaintext} -> 
>  Tiangong 1  |  Shijian 6A  |  XSS 10  |  M-CUBED/EXP-1 PRIME  |  DMSP\
>  4B/F3  |  Orbcomm FM-30  |  HJ-1C  |  Porcupine 1  |  Meteor 1-16  | \ 
>  Cosmos 1176 coolant  |  ... (707)}
In[18]:=                                                                        

I'm trying to figure out how to get access to those 707 other satellites. I've tried changing the output format to PodCell and PodPlaintext and the like, but unsurprisingly the change in output format didn't change the actual results. I also tried setting the PodWidth to very high values, but nothing seemed to change when I did that. I saw a reference to OutputSizeLimit in the docs, but I'm 1) not sure if the elision is happening at the API layer or locally, and 2) wasn't able to change OutputSizeLimit in Wolfram Language on my Raspberry Pi:

Set::wrsym: Symbol $OutputSizeLimit is Protected.                               

Any advice or suggestions on how to proceed?

TIA, alex

POSTED BY: Alex Shepard
4 Replies

Hey Alex:

Consistent with my experience, the WolframAlpha dev support team has resolved this issue that I reported. The fix is: