Message Boards Message Boards

WeatherData function results in "Missing[Not Available]"

Posted 8 years ago

We are using Mathematica 8 to extract historical weather data for use in Excel models. In the last month, our code has stopped working in a way that implies we can't access anything but current conditions.

Taken directly from the examples in the Function Navigator:

WeatherData[{45, -90}, "WindSpeed"]

returns a valid answer, but

WeatherData["KABQ", "Pressure", {2008, 3}]

returns the error "Missing[NotAvailable]". The same holds true for many variations of properties that include some sort of time component.

Has something changed in the last month that prevents us from accessing this weather data, such as "your version has been deprecated", or is there a more logical reason why it worked last month but not this month?

As an aside: I work in IT and support engineers who use Mathematica. I am not personally knowledgeable about the use of this software, but have enough programming skill to understand the code.

POSTED BY: Ryan Dey
5 Replies
Posted 8 years ago

The weather data appears to be back in operation this morning, with our original code once again working properly. The examples cited above all return valid data as well. It looks like Wolfram has restored the third-party API process they are using to collect this data.

Of course, I didn't discover this until I had already worked out the WolframAlpha commands Timothy pointed me to. Our engineer needed just temperature for a one month period, so I used the following command to get the data needed (airport changed to protect the innocent).

WolframAlpha["temperature at KBOS from 9/1/2016 to 10/1/2016", {{"TemperatureChart:WeatherData", 1}, "ComputableData"}]

Thanks for the help, Timothy. I really appreciate you taking the time to assist me. I definitely enjoyed digging into a new programming language as well.

Posted 8 years ago