|
|
10 Replies
|
10 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

How suitable is Mathematica for a Space Elevator simulation

A group of us at the International Space Elevator Consortium (ISEC) are designing a comprehensive simulation suite for the space elevator. We are trying to select a software base, and Mathematica is one of the choices. The spreadsheet shows several others. I have been using Mathematica for a few months and have filled in my scores on a scale of 1 to 10 against a list of features that we need. 1 means a lot of work is needed; 10 means it’s all there already. We would really like other users or Mathematica staff to put their own opinions in a copy of the spreadsheet. It’s OK to write in brief verbal comments or references rather than just numbers if that helps.

Attachments:
POSTED BY: John Knapman
10 Replies

I think a Skype call would be a good idea. Our team will talk about this later today (Tuesday) and I'll get back to you. Thank you.

Hi John, i believe that SystemModeler together with Mathematica will be able to target many of your problems better than the list reflects. However, it is hard to say as it might depend on the interpretation of each headline. If you like we can setup a phone meeting to better understand your requirements and give you more accurate answers.

POSTED BY: Jan Brugard

I am embarrassed to admit that you are right. I misread the instructions. Here is the corrected version where 1 is best.

Attachments:

OK I have updated the score from 1 to 8 on testing quality assurance. I take the point about version control; we should have that in there. I will keep you updated on our decision-making progress. The team has a Skype call on Tuesday. They will see your comments and advice. Thanks.

Posted 7 years ago

Isn't 1 better than 8 in this spreadsheet?

POSTED BY: John Stewart
Posted 7 years ago