Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
10 Replies
|
20 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Model the Coffee cooling problem with WSM?

Posted 7 years ago

Greetings while I am new to WSM I have a few years physics experience.

It seems to me that a the classic 'when do I add milk/cream? is a perfect opportunity for illustrating the modelling capabilities of WSM. However, I am yet to see this application..

Too simple perhaps?

I have plenty of examples of mathematical modelling. this conference article covers all the possibilities with 5 models, each more complex to allow for fat globules on surface insulation radiation, colour of surface of cup, material of cup, volume of cup, surface area etc..

I am hoping experienced WSM guru will not find this too trivial and apply their talents to develop an all tim classic WSM model..

regards Gary high school physics/IT teacher melbourne Australia

** the need for this? we have just licensed every high school teacher (20k)and their students (200k) on whatever OS they have for the entire wolfram suite Wolfram Alpha PRO Mathematica Wolfram SystemModeler Wolfram Cloud...

Attachments:
POSTED BY: Gary Bass
10 Replies

Hi Everyone, I know that I am not actually answering the question, which is already answered, I believe. Here is something that I do in my lectures regarding that same problem. I don't use WSM, but just standard Mathematica and a rather simple approach based on Newton's law for cooling. Please see: Coffee & milk problem with Arduino and Newton's law of cooling

Attachments:
POSTED BY: Marco Thiel
Posted 7 years ago

Nicely done Marco.

Hi Gary!