|
16 Replies
|
14 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

How to find the first 100 prime twins without a do loop or iteration

Posted 11 years ago
I'm fairly new to programming with Mathematica and I'm trying to use Do loops and iteration as little as possible. One typical problem I run into is this:

The following code quickly finds all prime twins ( the first member of them) that are smaller than 100 
Select[Range[100], (PrimeQ[#] && PrimeQ[# + 2]) &]
I would like to know if it is possible to use a similar simple line of code to find the first hundred prime twins without using a do or for loop and iteration, as I would normally do with a procedural language. I studied the manuals and several books, but I haven't found a way to do this.

Any help would be appreciated.

Harrie
POSTED BY: H FR
16 Replies
Joe, there are some issues with the editor. Please see reply from Vitaliy here for a few hints on easier editor handling:
POSTED BY: Moderation Team
Posted 11 years ago
Harrie,

Here is an idiom that is useful when you don't have explicit limits:
{{}, 3, 0} //. {r_, n_, c_ /; c < 100} :> If[PrimeQ[n] && PrimeQ[n + 2],
  {Append[r, {n, n + 2}], n + 4, c + 1}, {r, n + 2, c}] // First

I've also found it to be extremely fast.

Looking up //. and /; and :> in the docs will also help with your general understanding of how Mathematica works.
-Joe
POSTED BY: Joe Gilray
Dear Joe,

There is an error in your submission, it should be PrimeQ [ n ] , and for large number of primes, replaceall will give an error becuase MaxIterations is by default 2^16. So I changed the code of the 3 solutions now to measure the time needed to generate the primes and to measure computational duration for generating 100000 primes:
 AbsoluteTiming[ReplaceRepeated[{{},3,0},{r_,n_,c_/;c<num}:>If[PrimeQ[n]&&PrimeQ[n+2],{Append[r,{n,n+2}],n+4,c+1},{r,n+2,c}],MaxIterations->\[Infinity]]//First;]

m=num;
 n=1;
 f=0;