Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
5 Replies
|
6 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Plot a function (x,y) in polar coordinates?

Posted 8 years ago

Hi, I've this function f(x,y) such that (x,y) are the coordinates of an ellipse, that is (x/a)^2 + (y/b)^2 = 1.......so like the function yields an output for all coordinates of the ellipse....I want the plot in polar coordinates, like I want to have all the outputs laid down on a circular plot with degrees shown all around and the values of f(x,y)...i've absolutley no idea how to do this so please help me out from the basics, as i'm new to mathematica...

POSTED BY: Muhammad Abbas
5 Replies

Hi Muhammad,

I am no quite sure whether this is what you want to achieve, but one way is to define the following two functions;

cartesianToPolarEqn[eqn_] := 
 Module[{}, eqn /. {Rule @@@ Transpose@{{x, y}, FromPolarCoordinates[{r, \[Phi]}]}}]

and

implicitPolarPlot[eqn_, options : OptionsPattern[]] := Module[{},pl = ContourPlot[eqn, {r, 0, 8 Pi}, {\[Phi], 0, 2 Pi}, 
PlotPoints -> 100]; g[r_, th_] := {r Cos[th], r Sin[th]};pl[[1, 1]] = g @@@ pl[[1, 1]]; Show[pl, options]]

If you then want to convert your implicit equation into polar coordinates you can do:

cartesianToPolarEqn[(x/a)^2 + (y/b)^2 == 1 ]

which gives:

enter image description here

You can then generate a plot of this using:

implicitPolarPlot[(r^2 Cos[\[Phi]]^2)/a^2 + (r^2 Sin[\[Phi]]^2)/b^2 ==1 /. {a -> 1, b -> 2}]

This rescales the axes so that everything looks circular again, but the function also takes additional arguments such that

implicitPolarPlot[(r^2 Cos[\[Phi]]^2)/a^2 + (r^2 Sin[\[Phi]]^2)/b^2 ==1 /. {a -> 1, b -> 2}, PlotRange -> {{-2, 2}, {-2, 2}}]

Note that in both cases I needed to specify the parameters "a" and "b".

Cheers,

Marco

POSTED BY: Marco Thiel

great answer, as always!

The transformation rules can also be obtained like this:

rules = Thread[{x, y} -> CoordinateTransform[{"Polar" -> "Cartesian", 2}, {r, \[Phi]}]]