Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
8 Replies
|
3 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Find subset of strings with hamming weight n?

Posted 8 years ago

I am new to the language, I'm sure this question will sound very easy to most of you!

I would like to have a program which takes a set of strings and returns the subset of those strings with hamming weight n. I tried to do it like this:

Spaceweight[dim2_, n] := Module[{listi, weight, listinew},
  listinew = {};
  listi = SpaceF[dim2];
  For[cc = 1 <= Length[listi], cc++,
   If[DigitCount[listi, 2, 1] = n, listinew = Append[listinew, listi]];
   Return[listinew]];
  ]

but it doesn't even pretend to work. How would you go about doing this?

Thanks, Mary

POSTED BY: Mary Shepard
8 Replies

Mary,

I think the confusion is that Mathematica "strings" involve text strings as Sander demonstrated. I believe that your "strings" are lists of binary digits (and not Mathematica strings). If this is correct, This should work for you:

In[2]:= list = Range[15]
Out[2]= {1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15}

IntegerDigits converts my list of numbers to 4 digit binary "Strings" in Mathematica -- these are lists of digits

In[3]:= mylist = Map[IntegerDigits[#,2,4]&,list]
Out[3]= {{0,0,0,1},{0,0,1,0},{0,0,1,1},{0,1,0,0},{0,1,0,1},{0,1,1,0},{0,1,1,1},{1,0,0,0},{1,0,0,1},{1,0,1,0},{1,0,1,1},{1,1,0,0},{1,1,0,1},{1,1,1,0},{1,1,1,1}}

Make a function that picks out the lists with a certain number of 1's

In[5]:= SelectHamming[str_List,n_Integer]:=Select[str,Count[#,1]==n&]
In[6]:= SelectHamming[mylist,2]
Out[6]= {{0,0,1,1},{0,1,0,1},{0,1,1,0},{1,0,0,1},{1,0,1,0},{1,1,0,0}}

I hope this helps

POSTED BY: Neil Singer
Posted 8 years ago

THANK YOU SO MUCH. This works perfectly!

Mary

Posted 8 years ago

The correct interpretation was

SelectHamming