Message Boards Message Boards

What's the difference between plotting and solving?

Posted 7 years ago

Hello community,

this is something that's been bugging me for a long time, I simply don't get it: Why can Mathematica plot some functions without any problem, but not numerically solve an equation containing this function? I mean, I can see that Mathematica obviously calculated the values for plotting. Now why can't NSolve just use these values, compare them to the value I want to solve for (e.g., 0) and then tell me for which x the function f(x) is closest to 0? I had to build my own functions doing exactly that, and that's cumbersome and very prone to errors since I'm not a programmer.

Any insight provided to me about this issue is appreciated!

6 Replies

Sebastian,

Nsolve always works for me. Please give an example of code that has an issue so we can see how you are using it.

Regards

POSTED BY: Neil Singer

As already noted, it is difficult to respond to a question like this in absence of code for an example. Taking a guess I would surmise that no restriction was given to NSolve for where the solutions(s) might be located (Reals, an interval of the form a<=x<=b, etc.) and if the unrestricted solution set is perhaps infinite it cannot give a result.

POSTED BY: Daniel Lichtblau

Ted Ersek's package RootSearch fills in quite nicely for the missing built-in functionality.

POSTED BY: Gianluca Gorni
Posted 7 years ago

In this Stackexchange answer, Adam Strzebonski showed a way to get complex roots from System`TRootsDump`GuessRoots[f, {a, b}, False], where f is a pure function. For real roots one can use System`TRootsDump`GuessRealRoots[f, {a, b}]. These use ContourPlot and Plot respectively to approximate the roots. The results can be polished with FindRoot.

It's not clear to me how they plug into the high-level solvers.

POSTED BY: Updating Name

Another reason is that they use different algorithms and sometimes domains (Complexes, Reals).