Message Boards Message Boards

Debugging issue in a function

Posted 11 years ago
Hi There!
I am new to Mathematica. One of my former colleagues coded a function in a .nb file, the function with six variables looks like the following: 
GRegressions[fileDirectory_, fileName_, \ incrementStop_, substrateToughness_, interfaceToughness_, dataCheck_, \ correctionFactor_] :=

Now, I am trying to call the function from another .nb file in the following way: 
GRegressions[ "/scratch/Example_Fracture/", "85deg_usubv101a.dat", 266, 10.0, 0.40, "yes", 1]; 

The main issue is I am not seeing any error message or anything else to work with. When I press Shift+Enter, it just doesn't show me anything. 
I would appreciate any of your advice about how can I proceed further?

Thank you so much!
-Rajib 
POSTED BY: Rajib Alam
6 Replies
Hi,

There are two possible reasons:
(1) there is mismatch in function argument patterns;
(2) the function was not loaded.

If all the arguments in the function definition have only Blank (_), then (1) is OK.
As for (2), you need to load the function by executing the function definition in the notebook that contains it. You can do it by clicking the mouse inside the cell with the function definition and by typing Shift+Enter. If you are using a recent version of Mathematica, the function name GRegressions in GRegressions[ "/scratch/Example_Fracture/", "85deg_usubv101a.dat", 266, 10.0, 0.40, "yes", 1] is in blue color if the function has not been loaded. It will turn to black once the function is loaded. The notebook can then be closed.

If the function will be repeatedly used, it is better to make a package. Then you can load the function using the command Get (<<). See Mathematica documentation for details.

Youngjoo Chung
POSTED BY: Youngjoo Chung
Safer to leave the first notebook open and use File menu - Open to locate and open the second notebook.