Message Boards Message Boards

[WSC18] Voice sentiment classification using neural networks

Posted 6 years ago

Introduction

Hello Wolfram community! My name is Ryan Heo and I am a student at the Wolfram high school summer camp where over the past two weeks I was able to work on and complete a project called "Voice Sentiment classification". The goal of this project was to be able to take an input of an audio speech file and be able to classify that into one of the 8 different categories of emotion using machine learning. Down below is are the steps and the procedure I followed in the completion of my project.

Dataset

For this project I used the Ryerson Audio-Visual Database of Emotional Speech which consisted of varying tones or emotion of speech recordings from voice actors.Down below is the importation of the speech audio files that I have downloaded

folders = Select[FileNames["*", NotebookDirectory[]], 
   DirectoryQ[#] && StringContainsQ[#, "Actor"] &];
fileNames = FileNames["*.wav", #] & /@ folders // Flatten;
audio = Import /@ fileNames;

Encoding the data

After I have imported all the data files I took extracted the number section of the file name that matches the different emotion categories. I then separated these numbers into eight sections which corresponded with the emotional category of these files. Additionally, I threaded these sections to their corresponding emotion and after flattening the list and random sampling the data I inserted the data into the net encoder. I converted the data into a mel-frequency cepstrum which is based on the log power spectrum and does a better job modeling the human auditory system than the a normal cepstrum. In the net encoder I set my sampling rate and the number of filters I had to a high number in order to create more data points and to be able to extract more features respectively.

enc = NetEncoder[{"AudioMelSpectrogram", "WindowSize" -> 4096,