Message Boards Message Boards

|
|
2 Replies
|
3 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

Monday morning quiz: Do you know your Wolfram L vocabulary?

The Wolfram language tries to make distinctions where John Doe wouldn't see the need/distinction. The result is a wealth of similar(?) vocab items which can be confusing to beginners.

Quiz question: What do the following vocab items have in common, and why do 2 of them not belong in that list?

The quiz question maybe meh but I hope you find that list as intriguing as i do. Did you know all the items (aka passive vocabulary)? And which ones did you ever use in your own code (aka active vocabulary)? I am new to the language, so i am still figuring out which ones when to use in my future programs.

POSTED BY: Raspi Rascal
2 Replies

Here is another real life example. Everyday our local authority publishes the updated pair of numbers (coroona infections vs deaths) on their webpage, even on weekends. Plotting the data with ListPlot[] visualizes the course of the numbers, with the x-axis representing the day number.

mytown = {
(*Mon,day1*){864,430},{921,464},{981,496},{1082,556},{1156,603},{1214,634},{1260,652}
};
ListPlot[{ mytown[[All,1]], mytown[[All,2]] }] 

Day after day you collect the data from week2 but notice that for Friday and Saturday the authority didn't publish any data. You want ListPlot[] to plot an invisible data point for day12 and day13, so that the overall imaginary curve is still intact, not falsified. You don't want to substitute {0,0} for either day, because that would be amateurish. Again, as a beginner, you would think that good candidates to start with are Missing, None, Invisible, Undefined, Null, Nothing, Empty, Removed, Gone, Exclusions, Absent, Blank, Placeholder. However, the correct vocab item to substitute here in order to get the desired effect is Indeterminate.

mytown = {
(*Mon,day1*){864,430},{921,464},{981,496},{1082,556},{1156,603},{1214,634},{1260,652}